Drugs-Forum  
Home Wiki Studies Forum Groups Blog Video Images News
Go Back   Drugs Forum > DRUG-FORUMS > Ethnobotanicals > Caffeine & Coffee
Mark Forums Read
Register Tags

Notices

Caffeine & Coffee Caffeine, green tea, coffee, yerba mate, energy drinks.

Old 17-02-2009, 08:47

24 y/o Male
Amadameus is an unknown quantity at this point
Points: 22, Level: 1 Points: 22, Level: 1 Points: 22, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Caffeine in freebase form

Recently I've come across some information about how to free caffeine from its base in much the same way as crack. Unfortunately, I have no experience with the preparation of crack and some of my friends have voiced concerns about the procedures I've found online.

There are a few videos (which I'm confident are legitimate and not just gags) which detail the extraction of caffeine from coffee grounds and its conversion into freebase form, so it can be smoked "just the same as crack." Here is the procedure it describes:

1) Boil a pot of coffee grounds and water thoroughly
2) Filter out the grounds, rinse several times to draw out everything
3) Boil until water is gone, leaving a gooey black 'coffee sludge'
4) Add pure ammonia in about 1:1 ratio with sludge
5) Carefully boil away ammonia
6) Scrape out sludge, smoke it just as you would smoke freebase crack.

This has raised both my eyebrows and those of some more knowledgeable friends, who are worried mostly because the procedures they remember also involved ethyl ether or baking soda, neither of which is mentioned here.

My question is twofold: Can anyone confirm that this procedure for making freebase caffeine is accurate and safe, and does ammonia with "surfactant" added make it unsafe for use here? It's not 'Sudsy' or 'Lemon Scent' and there is no mention of Bitrex on the bottle.

Thanks very much!

Post Quality Evaluations:
Please don't boil ammonia! You don't want ammonia vapours everywhere it's highly alkali
Old 18-02-2009, 15:08
Silver Member