Register Tags

Notices

Amphetamine Amphetamine AKA speed

Old 22-08-2011, 07:46

Male from United States
Spence_tricky is an unknown quantity at this point
Points: 28, Level: 1 Points: 28, Level: 1 Points: 28, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
How does getting prescribed Adderall work? Will my parents know?

Hey all I'm new on this forum...the reason I'm posting this thread is because I'm curious about Adderall and other amphetamines like Concerta and Strattera. Basically, I used to be a exemplary student throughout elementary and middle school, but that was in large part due to my mom pushing me to do all my homework and such. In high school my productivity took a huge dip because my mom couldn't force me to do homework anymore, and now in college, my grades are actually in a very severe situation. I've already lost my scholarship...I just have the most awful work ethic issues ever.

I'm planning to see a psychiatrist soon and asking about Adderall and other amphetamine meds. I don't think that I'll be one of those types that actually need to use them all the time to crack down on the books, just once every now and then when I simply can't focus on the homework/task at hand. But at the same time I don't really want to let my parents know about it...they don't believe in that sort of meds (neither do i for that matter), but I simply can't risk wasting another academic year due to my completely crap work ethic. Assuming I get a prescription, what happens then? I tend to get distracted a lot during homework and studying...like my mom says: I play two hours of video games for every half hour I spend on homework or studying. It's getting pretty bad...