Ecstasy & MDMA Ecstasy (XTC) pills and pure MDMA

Old 28-09-2010, 04:13
Silver Member

28 y/o Male from United States
LemonMuncher is an unknown quantity at this point
Points: 97, Level: 1 Points: 97, Level: 1 Points: 97, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Summary of MDMA neurotoxic effects

The following question is of a scientific, informative nature, and involves no reference to participation if illegal activity. Hence I 'self-incriminate'

Most of my understanding of brain chemistry was self taught using wikipedia. I understand the various neurotransmitters and what they do. I understand the concept of super agonoists, full agonists, silent antagonists, etc. I know of various recepters related to drugs, such as the 5HT2A seretonin receptors, or the NMDAs.

I understand that MDMA gets you high because it is a seretonin reuptake inhibitor. (I think) because the synaptic vessels cant 'reuptake' seretonin, mass amounts of it float around in the synapse, making you happy. It also somehow releases oxytocin to make you love everyone. Whenever I try to read about the neurotoxic effects of MDMA, however, the information is way to complex for me. Its all about oxidization, and free radicals, and axons and whatnot. Can someone give me a decent, lay person summary about why they think seretonin is neurotoxic
Old 28-09-2010, 12:44
Account Awaiting Email Confirmation.

35 y/o Male from Earth
Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.Dr. Satan really knows their shit.
Points: 1,591, Level: 6 Points: 1,591, Level: 6 Points: 1,591, Level: 6
Re: Summary of MDMA neurotoxic effects

Action of MDMA on the Serotonergic neurons