Drugs-Forum  
Home Wiki Studies Forum Groups Blog Video Images News
Go Back   Drugs Forum > VARIOUS DRUG RELATED TOPICS > The euphoric body > Drug testing Questions
Mark Forums Read
Register Tags

Notices

Drug testing Questions Ask a question about drug testing

 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-02-2010, 22:14
b4rd b4rd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: 15-11-2009
24 y/o Male
Posts: 2
b4rd should review received reputation comments.
Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Answered: how does Vicodin (hydrocodone) show up on a drug test?

my friend asked me to pass on the following:

I am currently getting drug tested, so I cannot enjoy pretty much all of my favorite chems (MJ, opiates, and I'm getting alcohol tested)

I have some confusion as to whether or not Vicodin shows up on drug tests.

According to erowid.org, "Many opiate tests test only for morphine (which both codeine and heroin break down into). This is true for both home/business kits and laboratory testing. Hydrocodone does not break down into morphine, and is therefore not detected by these tests."

My questions is, does any body have any experience with using hydrocodone, being tested by the "standard 5 drug test" that is purchased at your local C.V.S. Pharmacy or Rite Aide or just any ol' Drug Store, and still passing your urinalysis?

Or does anyone think that it is high risk to use vicodin and take a urine test? (remember, these are the cheap "do at home" piss tests, and will not be sent into a lab unless I am tested positive.

Post Quality Evaluations:
Please use a more descriptive thread title in future posts

Last edited by Ilsa; 05-02-2010 at 03:50. Reason: self incrimination
Best Answer - Posted by Jasim
There are two classes of opiate analytes that are tested for in drug screens. Opiates include morphine, codeine, and heroin (by way of 6-MAM). Opioids include hydrocodone, oxycodone, hydromorphone and oxymorphone.

Opiates are always tested for in a drug screen. They are part of the NIDA-5 (or SAMHSA-5). Opioids are commonly included in an expanded panel test.

For most occupational tests, the NIDA-5 are only tested for. Meaning the opiate class only, not opioids. For criminal drug testing (not probation) an expanded panel is nearly always used which includes the class of opioids.

Other situations can vary quite dramatically. In short it depends on if the test is a standard 5-panel test (which will not detect opioids) or if the test is an expanded panel test (which will).
  #2  
Old 05-02-2010, 01:46
ninjaned ninjaned is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: 14-02-2009
24 y/o Male from United States
Posts: 309
ninjaned is a decent psychonaut.
Points: 225, Level: 2 Points: 225, Level: 2 Points: 225, Level: 2
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: Vicodin

First of all, avoid self incrimination, second, use descriptive thread titles. Also try to avoid brand names and use chemical names.

And as an answer, it seems that it probably will from the info found, but I'm not positive.
  #3  
Old 05-02-2010, 02:07
Herbal Healer 019 Herbal Healer 019 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: 24-09-2008
Male from France
Posts: 1,144
Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.Herbal Healer 019 really adds to the discussion.
Points: 1,177, Level: 5 Points: 1,177, Level: 5 Points: 1,177, Level: 5
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Re: Vicodin

Im assuming that SWIY is on probation, correct me if I'm wrong.

Most drug standard drug tests do not test for hydrocodone's metabolites, but SWIY should always prepare for the worst when it comes to drug testing especially if the repercussions could cause legal action against SWIY or expensive drug classes.

Also if they're testing for alcohol which most drug tests don't, I'm inclined to think it is a high end drug test that could test for hydrocodone (which is commonly abused and POs know this). Hydrocodone stays in the urine up to 4 days, so play it safe and consider the consequences. It may be worth it to take a break from drug use and enjoy sobriety until SWIY is no longer at risk of get a probation violation.
  #4  
Old 05-02-2010, 03:09
b4rd b4rd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: 15-11-2009
24 y/o Male
Posts: 2
b4rd should review received reputation comments.
Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: Vicodin

my friend said:
yea they are making me take "antibuse" for alcohol which is a drug that makes you verrrry ill if you drink, or if your skin even comes into contact with alcohol. But its my parents, not for a probation, just cercumstances =(

Post Quality Evaluations:
self incrimination, again, and please stay on topic

Last edited by Ilsa; 05-02-2010 at 03:51. Reason: self incrimination
  #5  
Old 28-04-2010, 17:37
Stereobot Stereobot is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: 28-04-2010
29 y/o Male
Posts: 1
Stereobot is an unknown quantity at this point
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: how does Vicodin (hydrocodone) show up on a drug test?

If the drug test is for probation or a drug court, then YES, Vicodin WILL show up on the drug test. Even a small amount will show up.

Some people will say that it will not because vicodin breaks down into hydromorphone, not morphine or codeine. While that is correct that it breaks down into hydromorphone, they still will test for it.

As for most jobs, SWIM was legally prescribed vicodin for something and took a drug test for a job. SWIM mentioned that to the lab tech who was giving the test but she said that for jobs they are looking for a very high level of opiates, a level that would be too high for someone taking a prescribed opioid.

From EXPERIENCE SWIM knows that probationary/ Drug Court tests will find vicodin.
  #6  
Old 28-04-2010, 21:26
Jasim Gold member Jasim is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 13-11-2008
31 y/o Male from United States
Posts: 1,930
Blog Entries: 1
Jasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline MedlineJasim must mainline Medline
Provided Answers: 1
Points: 4,651, Level: 10 Points: 4,651, Level: 10 Points: 4,651, Level: 10
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: how does Vicodin (hydrocodone) show up on a drug test?

There are two classes of opiate analytes that are tested for in drug screens. Opiates include morphine, codeine, and heroin (by way of 6-MAM). Opioids include hydrocodone, oxycodone, hydromorphone and oxymorphone.

Opiates are always tested for in a drug screen. They are part of the NIDA-5 (or SAMHSA-5). Opioids are commonly included in an expanded panel test.

For most occupational tests, the NIDA-5 are only tested for. Meaning the opiate class only, not opioids. For criminal drug testing (not probation) an expanded panel is nearly always used which includes the class of opioids.

Other situations can vary quite dramatically. In short it depends on if the test is a standard 5-panel test (which will not detect opioids) or if the test is an expanded panel test (which will).
  #7  
Old 29-04-2010, 05:20
cowsgomoo cowsgomoo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: 23-09-2009
Male from United States
Posts: 104
cowsgomoo should review received reputation comments.
Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1 Points: 27, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Re: how does Vicodin (hydrocodone) show up on a drug test?

also check this erowid link out...it may help
http://www.erowid.org/psychoactives/.../testing.shtml

swim would stay on the safe side and wait till after the 5 standered drug test has been completed. enjoy afterwords

*swim knows this is an obvious answer yet could only try to help out with a web link*
  #8  
Old 29-05-2014, 18:17
stryder09 stryder09 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: 19-12-2010
32 y/o Male from United States
Posts: 355
stryder09 is on the way upstryder09 is on the way upstryder09 is on the way up
Provided Answers: 9
Points: 410, Level: 3 Points: 410, Level: 3 Points: 410, Level: 3
Activity: 5.2% Activity: 5.2% Activity: 5.2%
Re: how does Vicodin (hydrocodone) show up on a drug test?

Vicodin contains hydrocodone. In a standard urine test, hydrocodone use will be detectable by the presence of the parent drug, hydrocodone, as well as possibly, the metabolites hydromorphone and/or norhydrocodone. The scope of analysis is very lab-specific.

Share this on:

Tags
hydrocodone drug test, opioid

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good information on passing a drug test Superball Drug testing discussion 43 17-06-2014 15:40
How To Beat Drug Tests Superball Drug testing discussion 136 12-06-2014 10:21
Hydrocodone Drug test ? MegaLab420 Drug testing discussion 4 13-04-2005 03:24
does adderal show on drug test? llllllllllllll Drug testing discussion 9 20-02-2005 15:31

» New Threads
7 days clean from Oxycodone - need...
Last post by Taarna
2 Replies, 91 Views
possible feeling xanax for days?
Last post by CNSgoingdown
2 Replies, 121 Views
Weird experience.. Blackout
Last post by AARON915
0 Replies, 1 Views
A quick question about tapering...
Last post by Roaddoggy
68 Replies, 2,236 Views
Could hydromorphone help against...
Last post by orogomogopogo
1 Replies, 28 Views
Loperamide getting the better of...
Last post by Roaddoggy
391 Replies, 15,136 Views
The cycle
Last post by laron16
4 Replies, 142 Views
My husband is a heroin addict
Last post by Großschmackhaft
13 Replies, 835 Views
Small time user scared of...
Last post by laron16
1 Replies, 89 Views
I Kicked A Bad Habit For Another...
Last post by Egyaddict
7 Replies, 630 Views
» New Wiki Articles
GHB
NET

Sitelinks: Information:

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:17.


Copyright: SIN Foundation 2003 - 2014, All rights reserved